Chairs and Committees

Prof. Dr. Leonidas Anthopoulos is an Associate Professor at the Business School of the TEI of Thessaly, Greece. During his professional and academic careers (of more than 20 years) he was responsible for planning and management of various complex ICT projects, while he is currently involved in various smart city research activities. His research interests concern, among others, Smart City, e-Government, Enterprise Architecture, web technologies etc. Some of his publications can be found in Government Information Quarterly and Information Polity. He is a member of the ITU Focus Group on Smart Sustainable Cities and an Associate Editor of the International Journal of Public Administration in the Digital Age (IJPADA).

Prof. Dr. Vishanth Weerakkody is a Professor of Digital Governance and Director of the Business Life Programme. Prior to his academic career, Vishanth worked in a number of Multinational organisations, including IBM UK, in the area of software engineering, business systems design and process analysis. He is currently involved in several research projects which are funded by the European Commission and Qatar Foundation focusing on themes such as ICT enabled process transformation, social innovation and digital inclusion in the public sector. He has published over 100 peer reviewed articles, guest-edited special issues of leading journals and edited several books on these themes. Vishanth has many years of R&D experience in the field of digital governance and is currently the Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Electronic Government Research. A Chartered IT professional and a Fellow of the UK Higher Education Academy, he combines over 25 years of practical industry-based knowhow with academic and teaching experience. Vishanth is also an elected member of the University Senate and Disciplinary Committee.

Prof. Marijn Janssen is full Professor in “ICT and Governance” and head of the ICT section of the Technology, Policy and Management Faculty of Delft University of Technology. He is member of the editorial board of Electronic Journal of eGovernment (EJEG), Electronic Commerce and Applications (ECRA) and associated editor of International Journal of E-business Research (IJEBR), international Journal of E-Government Research (IJEGR), Information Systems Frontiers (ISF) and co-editor in chief of Government Information Quarterly (GIQ). Currently he is program conference chair of IFIP EGOV2016. His research is focussed on the design and service orchestration of public-private service networks. Public-private networks can be characterized by interacting public and private parties having different objectives and requirements, various degrees of technology-readiness, a plurifom systems landscape, path dependencies and the need to be compliant with the regulatory environment. Service orchestration is aimed at integrating disparate activities performed by separated organizations taking into account aspects ranging from the institutional and organizational level to the technical level.


Program Committee Members (tentative)



  • Arthur Riel, The World Bank, Washington, U.S.A.
  • Cristina Maria Bueti, International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Advisor of ITU-T Study Group 5 “Environment and Climate Change”
  • Christopher G. Reddick, The University of Texas at San Antonio, U.S.A.
  • Guohui Zhang, The University of New Mexico, U.S.A.
  • Jane Hunter, The University of Queensland, Australia
  • Markus Rittenbruch, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • Flora Salim, RMIT University, Melbourne, Australia
  • Michael Sachs, Zentrum für E-Governance, Donau-Universitat Krems.
  • Stephen Cohen, Microsoft, USA
  • Nikolaos Mavridis, NCFSR DEMOKRITOS, Greece
  • Alois Paulin, TUWien, Vienna, Austria.
  • Panos Fitsilis, TEI of Thessaly, Larissa, Greece.
  • Gordon Feller, CISCO, USA.